For attending "illegal" NEC meeting: We've forgiven Peter Obi, others - Apapa-led LP faction - NEWS FRONTIER DAILY


Thursday, May 4, 2023

For attending "illegal" NEC meeting: We've forgiven Peter Obi, others - Apapa-led LP faction

Lamidi Apapa, LP Acting National Chairman

.....We stand with Obi to reclaim 'stolen mandate

The Lamidi Apapa-led faction of the Labour Party (LP), has declared that it has forgiven some prominent members of the party, including Peter Obi, Datti Baba-Ahmed, and Alex Otti, who attended what it described as an "illegal" NEC meeting organized by the Julius Abure-led faction in Asaba.

It also stated that it stands in solidarity with Peter Obi to reclaim their 'stolen mandate' at the presidential election petition tribunal.

The faction made the announcement in a communique issued at the end of its National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting held in Bauchi on Wednesday. 

According to the document jointly signed by the Acting National Chairman, Alhaji Lamidi Apapa, and the acting National Secretary, Alhaji Saleh Lawan, the decision to forgive the members was made in the interest of the party and the country.

It would be recalled that the LP has been embroiled in a leadership crisis, with two factions laying claim to the leadership of the party. 

The crisis, which may have affected the party's performance in the 2023 elections, has led to a series of court cases.

Despite that, the Apapa-led LP faction said: "We have forgiven those who attended the illegal NEC meeting in Asaba because acted ignorantly and were in contempt of the FCT High Court's restraining order. 

"However, the LP believes in the rule of law and will stand with its presidential candidate, Peter Obi, to reclaim our stolen mandate at the presidential election petition tribunal," the communique read.

The faction also announced the suspension of 12 members for their alleged involvement in 'anti-party activities' and 'unruly behaviour' against the LP leadership which include issuing statement without authority of the party.

"The NEC suspended (12) of its members namely, Obiora Ifo, Kenneth Okonkwo, Pst. Mrs. Adebayo Ekong, Com. P.G. Igene, Egnr. Adeola Adebanjo, Pst. Funke Awolowo, Sam Emeka Okpala, Barr. Folusho Leigh, Folakemi Collins, Com. Olubunmi Adesanya, Lanre Adenuga and Dr. Olatubosun Oswald," the communique listed.

The LP faction sympathized with Nigerians over the current economic hardship in the country and vowed that its future government would take urgent steps to address the situation.

No comments:

Post a Comment