10th NASS: Opposition parties set to wrestle power from APC - NEWS FRONTIER DAILY


Monday, May 8, 2023

10th NASS: Opposition parties set to wrestle power from APC

.....set up 13 man committee to recommend aspirants for Reps' speaker, deputy

Opposition parties in the incoming 10th National Assembly under the aegis of "Greater Majority" has unveiled a 13 man committee to shortlist, screen and recommend candidates for speakership and deputy speakership from amongst themselves.

In a statement released in Abuja on Monday by the minority caucus signed by the trio of its spokesmen: Hon. Afam Victor Ogene, Hon. Dachung Bagos and Hon. Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi, the opposition parties said it had the numerical strength of 183 to square up with the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) which has 177 members.

The opposition named Hon. Nicholas Mutu as Chairman, and Hon. Afam Victor Ogene as Secretary of the screening committee.

Members of the screening committee are  Rt. Hon Nicholas Mutu; Hon. Abdulmumini Jibrin (Deputy Chairman, NNPP); Hon. Oluwole Oke 
Member (PDP); Hon. Gaza Jonathan Gbefwi (Member, SDP); Hon. Beni Lar
(Member PDP); Hon. Dr. Ali Isa JC
(Member, PDP); Hon. Kabiru Alhassan Rurum (Member, NNPP ); Hon. Donatus Mathew Kuzalio (Member LP);  Hon. Yusuf Salisu Majigiri (Member PDP); Hon. Nnabuife Chinwe Clara (Member YPP); Hon. Gwacham Maureen Chinwe (Member APGA); Hon. Idris Salman
Member ADC) and Hon. Afam Ogene  (Secretary LP).

The statement read in parts: "Barely one week ago, precisely on Tuesday, May 2, 2023, We, the seven political parties which make up the minority bloc of the 10th Assembly of the House of Representatives, announced to the Nigerian people, via your different media organs, that it would, ultimately, seek to field candidates for the offices of Speaker and Deputy Speaker from among our ranks.

"This position has largely been foisted on the emergent 10th Assembly by the discordant tunes coming from the stable of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

"Conscious, however, of the common pact which our respective political parties have with the Nigerian people, to wit, 'holding government accountable to the people,' we resolved to step into the arena, by offering credible and alternative leadership options.

"Our position is further bouyed by our dominant numerical strength, which by parliamentary ethos, precedent and the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, As amended, allows us to contest the Presiding Officers position.

"Since emerging as the "Greater Majority," with a combined members-elect tally of 183, as against the APC's total of 177, history beckons on us to constructively, and creatively, chart the path towards the deepening of our nation's democracy.

"Consequently, and in keeping with it's resolve in that regard, the "Greater Majority" of the 10th House of Representatives has put together an 11-man Committee - complemented by a chairman and secretary - charged with the task of shortlisting, screening and eventual recommendation of aspirants for the Speakership and Deputy Speaker positions.

"With a long-standing member of the House of Representatives, the Rt. Hon. Nicholas Mutu as Chairman, and Hon. Afam Victor Ogene as Secretary, the Committee has one week to turn in its report."

No comments:

Post a Comment